Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses four cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. For further information please refer to our cookie policy.

Accept & Continue
Jennifer Johnston walking down a corridor

Useful information

In this section
Video on Demand

Vasily Petrenko conducts music by Ginastera, Respighi and Bizet

Ginastera Variaciones concertantes
Respighi Il Tramonto
Bizet (arr. Shchedrin) Carmen for percussion and strings

PRICE: £10.00
Item successfully added to your basket.

Vasily Petrenko conductor
Jennifer Johnston mezzo-soprano

Add 7 or more On Demand concerts to your basket for a 10% discount!Enjoy this concert in the comfort of your home, as we bring the Orchestra to your living room with an innovative online experience.

Concluding her time as Artist-in-Residence, Jennifer Johnston brings us the hauntingly beautiful Il Tramonto (The Sunset) based on words by Shelley. Respighi’s music depicts a young love cut off in its prime, an operatic drama in miniature. Carmen is one of opera’s most vibrant characters and in this version of the music, arranged by Shchedrin, the percussion team of the Orchestra have all the fun. Ginastera gives the rest of the orchestra a virtuosic workout to start.

The concert will be available to watch from 7pm on Wednesday 9 December, preceded by a live preconcert talk on Zoom at 7pm with BBC Radio 3 broadcaster and author Stephen Johnson, and a post-concert Zoom q and a session with musicians, conductors and composers in a sort of ‘post match analysis’, where you can ask questions and participate. Further information on how to join the Zoom will be sent to you after you purchase a ticket.You can watch the video at any point without the Zoom element. Please note on demand videos will only be available for 30 days from the date of initial broadcast.

* Please note that you need to be logged in to view the video after you have purchased it.

We’ve been thrilled with the positive feedback on these concerts:

The 4* Times review praised "a performance of dancing colours, crisp beauty and punch… Petrenko’s forces played with heart, soul and all the other necessaries in a performance strong enough to overwhelm even a home listener alone with a laptop."

The Guardian remarked on the concert’s “maximum impact for a bold start to virtual season”

Audiences commented:

Brilliant concert. Excellent programme. Great to have Stephen Johnson involved. Top class performance. More please ! Bravo !

“The sound quality was excellent and the programme was excellent.”

“This was so beautiful it made me cry”