Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses four cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. For further information please refer to our cookie policy.

Accept & Continue
Archived piano player standing in a dark room in dakr clothing

Useful information

In this section
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Sibelius Fifth Symphony

Beethoven Overture, Egmont
Chopin  Piano Concerto No.2
Caroline Shaw  Entr’acte for strings
Sibelius  Symphony No.5

Joshua Weilerstein conductor
Pavel Kolesnikov piano

Classic Intro - 6.15pm, Music Room
Classical music writer, composer and broadcaster Stephen Johnson talks about Sibelius's Symphony No.5.
Stephen JohnsoOne evening in the forests of Finland, Sibelius saw a flight of sixteen swans. ‘God, what beauty!’ he exclaimed – and he transformed that natural wonder into the melody that crowns his Fifth Symphony, a tune so good that you feel like you’ve known it your whole life. Tonight’s concert unites the heroism of Beethoven, the poetry of Chopin (played by Russian star Pavel Kolesnikov) and a Liverpool first: the haunting and beautiful Entr’acte by Pulitzer Prize-winner Caroline Shaw.

8% per ticket administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.

Additional Links

Joshua Weilerstein

Facebook Twitter