Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses four cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. For further information please refer to our cookie policy.

Accept & Continue
Archived Natalie Stutzmann in brown shirt leaning on conducting baton

Useful information

In this section
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Ode to Joy

Brahms Nänie
Wagner Act I Prelude from Parsifal
Beethoven Symphony No.9 ‘Choral’

Nathalie Stutzmann conductor
Ekaterina Siurina soprano
Jennifer Johnston mezzo-soprano
Bror Magnus Tødenes tenor
Leon Košavić baritone
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir

‘Oh you millions, I embrace you – here’s a kiss for all the world!’ Every performance of Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony is a special event, and from tragic opening to the uplifting final Ode to Joy it’s one of those pieces that you absolutely have to hear performed live. Nathalie Stutzmann conducts this climax to our Beethoven anniversary celebrations; and it all begins with quiet reflections by Brahms and Wagner – each, in its own way, a homage to Beethoven.

8% per ticket administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.