Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses four cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. For further information please refer to our cookie policy.

Accept & Continue
Join Our Mailing List

Be the first to know about concerts at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall and receive exclusive email offers on music you love!

Sign up today and receive an exclusive discount on your first ticket purchase!

  • Sign Up Successful!
    There's some signup error, please try again!
    You've already signed Up!
Joshua Weilerstein conducts music by Beethoven and Bartok

Useful information

In this section
video on demand

Joshua Weilerstein conducts music by Beethoven and Bartok

Beethoven Piano Concerto No.5 ‘Emperor’
Bartok Divertimento

PRICE: £10.00
Item successfully added to your basket.

Joshua Weilerstein conductor
Stephen Hough piano

Enjoy this concert in the comfort of your home, as we bring the Orchestra to your living room with an innovative online experience.

Joshua Weilerstein joins us in a programme featuring the mighty ‘Emperor Concerto’ with Liverpool favourite, Stephen Hough at the keyboard. Bartok’s Divertimento for Strings was composed just weeks before the onset of World War 2, which eventually forced him to leave fascist Europe for the life of an exile in New York City.

This concert has been extended and will be available until midnight on Sunday 28 February 2021.

* Please note that you need to be logged in to view the video after you have purchased it.

We’ve been thrilled with the positive feedback on these concerts:

The 4* Times review praised "a performance of dancing colours, crisp beauty and punch… Petrenko’s forces played with heart, soul and all the other necessaries in a performance strong enough to overwhelm even a home listener alone with a laptop."

The Guardian remarked on the concert’s “maximum impact for a bold start to virtual season”

Audiences commented:

Brilliant concert. Excellent programme. Great to have Stephen Johnson involved. Top class performance. More please ! Bravo !

“The sound quality was excellent and the programme was excellent.”

“This was so beautiful it made me cry”