Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Enchanting Tales

Book tickets
Pulcinella, Suite
Elena Kats-Chernin
Ancient Letters, concerto for amplified harpsichord and orchestra
Mother Goose, Suite
Symphony in Three Movements
Elim Chan
Mahan Esfahani

Post Concert Question Time - starts 15 minutes after the concert ends (Music Room) with Elim Chan and Mahan Esfahani.

Everything old is new again! Stravinsky’s Pulcinella takes 18th-century music, sprinkles it with humour and drops it headfirst into the Roaring Twenties. Elena Kats- Chernin (remember the Lloyds TSB advert?) takes tales from the Silk Road, and creates a typically quirky showpiece for our new Artist in Residence Mahan Esfahani. Maurice Ravel, meanwhile, looks back on childhood in his ravishing Mother Goose. Guest conductor Elim Chan’s concerts are nothing if not entertaining – and she finishes this one with more Stravinsky: the high-kicking, high-voltage Symphony in Three Movements, written in 1940s Hollywood. Pure showbiz.

£15, £21, £27, £35, £45
7.5% per order administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.

Additional Links