Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses four cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. For further information please refer to our cookie policy.

Accept & Continue
Join Our Mailing List

Be the first to know about concerts at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall and receive exclusive email offers on music you love!

  • Sign Up Successful!
    There's some signup error, please try again!
    You've already signed Up!
Archived Viva Venezuela
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Viva Venezuela

Kodály Dances of Galánta  (16')
Pacho Flores Cantos y Revueltas: Fantasia concertante for Trumpet, Venezuelan Cuatro and strings (UK premiere)  (18')
Piazzolla Revirado for trumpet and orchestra  (05')
- INTERVAL (20') -
Bartók Concerto for Orchestra  (36')

Domingo Hindoyan conductor
Pacho Flores trumpet
Leónidas Rondón cuatro

Young Zoltán Kodály escapes from school in the Hungarian town of Galánta, and hears the world’s wildest folk band. Béla Bartók faces exile and uncertainty with a blazing full orchestra – and wraps it all up with an exuberant shout of joy. And Domingo Hindoyan welcomes back Venezuelan trumpet sensation Pacho Flores, joined by cuatro (small guitar) player Leónidas Rondón, for still more high-octane musical daredevilry, plus a sultry little number from the king of tango, Astor Piazzolla. If you heard Flores perform in January 2020…well, enough said!

Post-concert Question Time - starts 15 minutes after the concert ends (Music Room) with Chief Conductor Domingo Hindoyan and trumpeter Pacho Flores

learn more about the music

8% administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders.
A £1 postage fee is applicable on all orders if opting for postal delivery.
More information about booking fees