Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. We also use cookies to optimise your experience on our website. For further information please refer to our privacy policy.

Accept & Continue
Join Our Mailing List

Be the first to know about concerts at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall and receive exclusive email offers on music you love!

  • Sign Up Successful!
    There's some signup error, please try again!
    You've already signed Up!
Seascapes and Mountains
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Seascapes and Mountains

Mendelssohn Overture, The Hebrides (Fingal’s Cave)
Haydn Cello Concerto in D
Tchaikovsky Manfred Symphony

Vasily Petrenko conductor
Alban Gerhardt cello

Cast out of society, Manfred takes to the mountains. Lord Byron didn’t do understatement – but Tchaikovsky sensed a kindred spirit, and his epic Manfred Symphony contains some of the most thrilling music he ever wrote. For Vasily Petrenko, it’s a passion – an explosive climax to a concert that begins with Mendelssohn’s Scottish seascape and stars cellist Alban Gerhardt in Haydn’s elegant concerto. He’s been called “a magician”, and you’ll hear why.

  • Sun 6 Nov 2:30pm £50/£42/£36/£29/£19

8% administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders.
A £1 postage fee is applicable on all orders if opting for postal delivery.
More information about booking fees

Additional Links