Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses four cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. For further information please refer to our cookie policy.

Accept & Continue
Join Our Mailing List

Be the first to know about concerts at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall and receive exclusive email offers on music you love!

  • Sign Up Successful!
    There's some signup error, please try again!
    You've already signed Up!

Please note, that you will need to demonstrate proof of COVID-19 status to enter the venue AND from Thursday 27 January, the wearing of a face covering will be strongly encouraged throughout your visit - find out more.

The in-person box office at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall is currently closed apart from 2 hours prior to each show. Please book online or call 0151 709 3789.


Scottish Symphony
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Scottish Symphony

Bruch Concerto for Violin and Viola
Mozart Symphony No.36 ‘Linz'
Mendelssohn Symphony No.3 ‘Scottish’

Julian Rachlin conductor/violin
Sarah McElravy viola

On a summer evening in Edinburgh, amid the ruins of Holyrood Castle, Felix Mendelssohn imagined the first notes of his Scottish symphony. It’s all there in the music, and when conductor Julian Rachlin returns to the Orchestra, it’ll spring vividly to life. That goes double for Mozart’s sunny, celebratory Linz symphony – and since we’re talking doubles, how about a lovely, neglected concerto by former Liverpool Philharmonic music director Max Bruch? With Sarah McElravy on viola and Julian Rachlin on violin, it’s never sounded more natural.

  • Thu 28 Apr 7:30pm £48/£42/£36/£29/£19/£8

8% administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders.
A £1 postage fee is applicable on all orders if opting for postal delivery.
More information about booking fees