Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses four cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. For further information please refer to our cookie policy.

Accept & Continue
Archived Russian Passion

Useful information

In this section
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Russian Passion

Tchaikovsky Cossack Dance from Mazeppa
Prokofiev Sinfonia Concertante for cello and orchestra
Glazunov Raymonda, Excerpts
Khachaturian Spartacus, Suite

Vasily Petrenko conductor
Alban Gerhardt cello

Heroic gladiators, tragic lovers, fairytale princesses and Cossack riders: when you hear the music of the Russian ballet, it’s like stepping into a fabulous storybook. Vasily Petrenko adores it, and this afternoon he takes us from the Imperial splendour of Glazunov’s Raymonda to the hard-hitting action and soaring romance of Khachaturian’s Spartacus – plus a brilliant little vodka-shot of an opener from Tchaikovsky (it’s got snow on its boots). But at the heart of this concert is the bold, passionate poetry of Prokofiev’s Sinfonia Concertante: a truly epic cello concerto, played by a truly great cellist.

8% per ticket administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.