Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. We also use cookies to optimise your experience on our website. For further information please refer to our privacy policy.

Accept & Continue
Join Our Mailing List

Be the first to know about concerts at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall and receive exclusive email offers on music you love!

  • Sign Up Successful!
    There's some signup error, please try again!
    You've already signed Up!
Archived Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun

Debussy Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune (10')
Prokofiev Violin Concerto No.2 (26')
- INTERVAL - (20')
Beethoven Symphony No.7 (36')

Maxim Emelyanychev conductor
Aylen Pritchin violin

“I am the new Bacchus, pressing out wine for the human spirit” declared Ludwig van Beethoven, and this is a concert designed to go straight to the head. Debussy’s Prélude conjures a dreamworld of perfumes and colours, while Prokofiev’s Second Violin Concerto sings and dances in the Spanish sun – especially when played by the marvellous Aylen Pritchin. And then Russian dynamo Maxim Emelyanychev unleashes Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony: forty minutes of great tunes, driving rhythms and raw, heartpounding thrills.

‘...dynamic, energetic and exciting to watch, exhilarating for musicians and audience alike’
 The Guardian on conductor Maxim Emelyanychev

learn more about the music

printable programme notes


8% administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders.
A £1 postage fee is applicable on all orders if opting for postal delivery.
More information about booking fees