Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. We also use cookies to optimise your experience on our website. For further information please refer to our privacy policy.

Accept & Continue
Join Our Mailing List

Be the first to know about concerts at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall and receive exclusive email offers on music you love!

  • Sign Up Successful!
    There's some signup error, please try again!
    You've already signed Up!
Petrenko's Manfred
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Petrenko's Manfred

James Macmillan For Zoe*
Rubinstein Cello Concerto No.2
Tchaikovsky Manfred Symphony

Vasily Petrenko conductor
Alban Gerhardt cello

Tormented by forbidden desires, Manfred takes to the mountains to battle his demons. Tchaikovsky knew exactly how he felt, and poured everything into 50 minutes (including a part for organ!) of the most personal music he ever wrote. Is this the greatest symphony you’ve never heard? Vasily Petrenko’s mad about it, and to set the scene he’s joined by the brilliant Alban Gerhardt to play the rarely heard, but gloriously tuneful cello concerto by Tchaikovsky’s friend, Anton Rubinstein.

*For Zoe is dedicated to the memory of former Royal Liverpool Philharonic Orchestra cor anglais player, Zoe Kitson 

  • Thu 3 Nov 7:30pm £50/£42/£36/£29/£19

8% administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders.
A £1 postage fee is applicable on all orders if opting for postal delivery.
More information about booking fees

Additional Links