Our ticketing system Spektrix uses four cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. For further information please refer to our cookie policy.

Accept & Continue
dark background with conductor holding baton dressed in a suit

Useful information

In this section
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Petrenko’s Mahler VI

Wagner Siegfried Idyll
Mahler Symphony No.6

Vasily Petrenko conductor

Wagner’s beautiful and tender Siegfried Idyll, written as a surprise birthday present for his beloved wife, is a delicate love letter, first performed on the staircase of their family home. In contrast, Mahler imagined his mighty Sixth Symphony as a great musical tragedy – the tale of a hero destroyed by fate. He never expected it to happen to him, and he filled every bar of this immense symphony with his most heartfelt and intimate emotions. Both pieces give a musical experience that leaves no listener unmoved, and in the hands of Vasily Petrenko, expect to be stirred to the very depths of your soul.

Vasily Petrenko will provide an introduction from stage before this concert, to help you get even more from the experience.

  • Thu 21 May 7:30pm £49/£40/£35/£27/£21

8% per ticket administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.