Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses four cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. For further information please refer to our cookie policy.

Accept & Continue
Petrenko’s Mahler IX

Useful information

In this section
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Petrenko’s Mahler IX

Please note this concert has been cancelled due to the coronavirusGrace-Evangeline Mason Mahler’s Letters for a cappella choir (world premiere)*
Mahler Symphony No.9

Vasily Petrenko conductor
Ellie Slorach *conductor
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir

Classic Intro - 6.15pm, Music Room
Norman Lebrecht, prominent cultural commentator and author of Why Mahler? How One Man and Ten Symphonies Changed Our World, talks about Mahler’s Ninth Symphony.
The very first notes of Mahler’s Ninth seem to droop with sadness. But that’s just the beginning, not the end, and in this extraordinary symphony Mahler wrings every last drop of sweetness and sorrow from a life of total emotional commitment. All this prefaced by a brand new tribute to the composer, inspired by the letter writing of Gustav Mahler, and written for our choir by the young British composer and 2017 Christopher Brooks prize-winner Grace-Evangeline Mason.

  • Thu 3 Dec 7:30pm £50/£42/£36/£28/£22

8% per ticket administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.

Additional Links

Grace-Evangeline Mason

Facebook Twitter