Our ticketing system Spektrix uses four cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. For further information please refer to our cookie policy.

Accept & Continue
Head shot of dark haired opera singer in black top

Useful information

In this section
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Petrenko’s Mahler IV

Please note this concert has been cancelled. For refunds, please contact Box Office on boxoffice@liverpoolphil.com or call a member of our team on 0151 709 3789Beethoven Ah! Perfido
Beethoven Piano Concerto No.4
Mahler Symphony No.4

Vasily Petrenko conductor
Boris Giltburg piano
Susanne Bernhard soprano

Classic Intro - 6.15pm, Music Room
University of Liverpool’s Dr Lee Tsang talks about Dutch conductor Willem Mengelberg, famous for his performances of Mahler with the Concertgebouw Orchestra, and Mahler’s Symphony No.4.
Not all Mahler symphonies are massive. His Fourth Symphony opens with a jingling of sleigh bells, a flurry of birdsong and a melody straight out of Mozart. But it’s not all sweetness and light, and Vasily Petrenko is sure to find both laughter and tears on the way to Mahler’s final vision of heaven, with Susanne Bernhard returning to Liverpool after the success of the Britten War Requiem last season. It’s an enchanting way to end a concert that opens with Beethoven at his most operatic, and his most poetic – as the mesmerising Boris Giltburg plays the enigmatic Fourth Piano Concerto.

Vasily Petrenko will provide an introduction from stage before this concert, to help you get even more from the experience.

Download Programme Notes

large print


  • Thu 23 Apr 7:30pm £49/£40/£35/£27/£21

8% per ticket administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.