Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. We also use cookies to optimise your experience on our website. For further information please refer to our privacy policy.

Accept & Continue
Join Our Mailing List

Be the first to know about concerts at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall and receive exclusive email offers on music you love!

  • Sign Up Successful!
    There's some signup error, please try again!
    You've already signed Up!
Archived Petrenko conducts Mahler
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Petrenko conducts Mahler

Schubert  Symphony No. 5 (26')
-INTERVAL- (20')

Mahler Symphony No.5 (72')

Vasily Petrenko conductor

It is with regret that we announce that Truls Mørk has had to withdraw from this concert. A trumpet sounds in the darkness, and Conductor Laureate Vasily Petrenko and the Orchestra plunge into the terror, the glory and the soaring romance of Mahler’s Fifth Symphony. There are horn-calls and funeral marches, hymns of triumph and Viennese waltzes, and above all, the heart-rending Adagietto - Mahler’s unforgettable musical love-letter to his young wife. Post-concert Question Time - starts 15 minutes after the concert ends (Music Room) with Vasily Petrenko.

learn more about the music

printable programme notes

8% administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders.
A £1 postage fee is applicable on all orders if opting for postal delivery.
More information about booking fees