Our ticketing system Spektrix uses four cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. For further information please refer to our cookie policy.

Accept & Continue
Archived Liverpool String Quartet sitting outside in the sun on a picnic bench

Useful information

In this section
Close Up Concert

Liverpool String Quartet

Bruch String Quintet in E flat
Schoenberg Verklärte Nacht (Transfigured Night)
Ian Stephens A Wailing on the Wind for storyteller and string quartet

Róisín Walters violin
Kate Marsden violin
Sarah Hill violin/viola
Daniel Sanxis viola
Nick Byrne cello
Alex Holladay cello
Angela Mounsey narrator

Verklärte Nacht, Schoenberg’s seminal late-Romantic masterpiece for string sextet, follows a wistful late Quintet by Max Bruch. A Wailing on the Wind, with text by Northern Ireland storyteller Liz Weir, is a moving tapestry of music and words which portrays the relationship between a teenage boy and his great-grandmother, exploring their own fractured family history through retellings of Irish folk tales. 

8% per ticket administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.