Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses four cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. For further information please refer to our cookie policy.

Accept & Continue
Join Our Mailing List

Be the first to know about concerts at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall and receive exclusive email offers on music you love!

  • Sign Up Successful!
    There's some signup error, please try again!
    You've already signed Up!

In order to enter the venue for events from 1 September, you will need to demonstrate proof of COVID-19 status on arrival at the venue - find out more.

Archived black and white photo of cellist playing
Close Up Concert

Jonathan Aasgaard cello

Please note this concert has been cancelled. For refunds, please contact Box Office on boxoffice@liverpoolphil.com or call a member of our team on 0151 709 3789

Henri Dutilleux Trois strophes sur le nom de Sacher
Steve Reich Counterpoints with tape
Ben Hackbarth new work for cello and live electronics
Giovanni Sollima Hell 1 for cello and tape
Kaija Saariaho Petals for cello and live electronics
Manuela Blackburn Come Closer for cello and electronics
Pierre Boulez Messagesquisse for multiple cellos with film

For this concert, Jonathan Aasgaard explores music written for the cello in his lifetime, including a number of works featuring versatile ways to work with electronics.

8% administrative fee applies to most telephone/online orders (excluding Schools Concerts). Postage is included in this fee. More information about booking fees.