By using our website, you agree to our cookie policy.

Accept & Continue
Archived L'Aprés Midi

Useful information

In this section
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

L'Aprés Midi

Debussy Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune
Mendelssohn Violin Concerto
Sibelius Symphony No. 2

Duncan Ward conductor
Alena Baeva violin

Opening with Debussy’s sumptuous Prelude, guest conductor Duncan Ward makes his debut with Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra by whisking us away to a dreamy summer’s evening with a programme filled with poetry and bursting with creativity. Violinist Alena Baeva, also making her Liverpool debut, joins the Orchestra to perform Mendelssohn’s ever-popular, lyrical Violin Concerto, and then Sibelius’s Second symphony takes us on a moving journey from sunny optimism, through challenge and crisis, before driving towards a stirring, triumphant finale.

Programme Notes

Large Print


8% per ticket administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.

Additional Links

Alena Baeva
Facebook Twitter