Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses four cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. For further information please refer to our cookie policy.

Accept & Continue
Rebecca Tong conducts music by Sibelius, Beethoven and Schubert

Useful information

In this section
video on demand

Rebecca Tong conducts music by Sibelius, Beethoven and Schubert

Sibelius Suite, Mignonne
Beethoven Grosse Fuge
Schubert Symphony No.5

PRICE: £10.00
Item successfully added to your basket.

*We regret to announce that conductor Andrew Manze has had to withdraw from the concert due to travel restrictions. We are grateful to Rebecca Tong who will replace him.

Rebecca Tong conductor
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Add 7 or more On Demand concerts to your basket for a 10% discount!Enjoy this concert in the comfort of your home, as we bring the Orchestra to your living room with an innovative online experience.

Schubert’s youthful exuberance shines through in his Fifth Symphony (composed at the age of 19), bursting with tunes, fresh and full of life. In contrast Beethoven’s Grosse Fuge, originally written for string quartet, is one of the composer’s most profound works.

The concert will be available to watch from 7pm on Wednesday 21 October, preceded by a live preconcert talk on Zoom at 7pm with BBC Radio 3 broadcaster and author Stephen Johnson, and a post-concert Zoom q and a session with musicians, conductors and composers in a sort of ‘post match analysis’, where you can ask questions and participate.  Further information on how to join the Zoom will be sent to you after you purchase a ticket.

You can watch the video at any point without the Zoom element. Please note on demand videos will only be available for 30 days from the date of initial broadcast.

* Please note that you need to be logged in to view the video after you have purchased it.

If you’re interested in joining other concert goers to watch the concert together (virtually), why not join us at 7pm for a preconcert talk by Stephen Johnson on Zoom, followed by the concert? 

To join the Zoom Pre-concert talk at 7pm, please click here: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/89269568677

The post-concert Q and A session with flautist Helen Wilson, violinist Lukas Hank and conductor Rebecca Tong will start around 8.30pm. In this session, you’re welcome to ask about the performance, the pieces being performed, what a musician’s life is like right now, or anything else!

To join the post-concert Q and A session, click here at 8.30pm: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/89269568677

We’ve been thrilled with the positive feedback on these concerts:

The 4* Times review praised "a performance of dancing colours, crisp beauty and punch… Petrenko’s forces played with heart, soul and all the other necessaries in a performance strong enough to overwhelm even a home listener alone with a laptop."

The Guardian remarked on the concert’s “maximum impact for a bold start to virtual season”

Audiences commented:

Brilliant concert. Excellent programme. Great to have Stephen Johnson involved. Top class performance. More please ! Bravo !

“The sound quality was excellent and the programme was excellent.”

“This was so beautiful it made me cry”