Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. We also use cookies to optimise your experience on our website. For further information please refer to our privacy policy.

Accept & Continue
Join Our Mailing List

Be the first to know about concerts at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall and receive exclusive email offers on music you love!

  • Sign Up Successful!
    There's some signup error, please try again!
    You've already signed Up!
On Demand: Vasily Petrenko conducts music by Shostakovich and Beethoven

Useful information

In this section
video on demand

On Demand: Vasily Petrenko conducts music by Shostakovich and Beethoven

Shostakovich Cello Concerto No.1
Beethoven Symphony No.2

PRICE: £10.00
Item successfully added to your basket.

Please note that this broadcast has been cancelled.Vasily Petrenko conductor
Anastasia Kobekina cello

The friendship between the cellist Rostropovich and several composers produced many works that are the backbone of the cello repertoire today. Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto No.1 is perhaps the most well-known, and was first performed by him 60 years ago. Respecting each other as artist and composer, their friendship was long and they spent many hours together talking about music whilst quenching their thirst! The sheer force of energy that thrusts out of the cellos opening bars builds to a tremendous ending which simply leaves the soloist (and audience) out of breath. After two years of sketching which coincided with his realisation that his hearing was becoming a problem, Beethoven produced his Second Symphony, one of the last works he was able to hear performed.

The concert will be available to watch from 7pm on Tuesday 23 March, preceded by a live preconcert talk on Zoom at 7pm with BBC Radio 3 broadcaster and author Stephen Johnson, and a post-concert Zoom q and a session with soloist Anastasia Kobekina, lead horn Timothy Jackson and condcutor Vasily Petrenko in a sort of ‘post match analysis’, where you can ask questions and participate. Further information on how to join the Zoom will be sent to you after you purchase a ticket.You can watch the video at any point without the Zoom element. Please note on demand videos will only be available for 30 days from the date of initial broadcast.

* Please note that you need to be logged in to view the video after you have purchased it.