Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Russian Passion

Book tickets
Cossack Dance from Mazeppa
Sinfonia Concertante for cello and orchestra
Raymonda, Excerpts
Spartacus, Suite
Vasily Petrenko
Alban Gerhardt

Heroic gladiators, tragic lovers, fairytale princesses and Cossack riders: when you hear the music of the Russian ballet, it’s like stepping into a fabulous storybook. Vasily Petrenko adores it, and this afternoon he takes us from the Imperial splendour of Glazunov’s Raymonda to the hard-hitting action and soaring romance of Khachaturian’s Spartacus – plus a brilliant little vodka-shot of an opener from Tchaikovsky (it’s got snow on its boots). But at the heart of this concert is the bold, passionate poetry of Prokofiev’s Sinfonia Concertante: a truly epic cello concerto, played by a truly great cellist.

£15, £21, £27, £35, £45
7.5% per order administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.