Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses four cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. For further information please refer to our cookie policy.

Accept & Continue
Join Our Mailing List

Be the first to know about concerts at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall and receive exclusive email offers on music you love!

  • Sign Up Successful!
    There's some signup error, please try again!
    You've already signed Up!
Archived Sinfonia Concertante

Useful information

In this section
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Sinfonia Concertante

Penderecki Double Concerto for violin and viola*
Mozart Sinfonia Concertante for violin and viola
Brahms Symphony No.1

Julian Rachlin conductor/violin
Alexander Joel *conductor
Sarah McElravy viola

Mozart loved to direct his music while he played it – and that’s exactly what Julian Rachlin will be doing today, as together with Sarah McElravy he performs what might be the finest concerto Mozart ever wrote. Then he conducts Brahms’s epic First Symphony, a stirring musical drama of tragedy and ultimate triumph. And although Rachlin doesn’t compose his own music, we’ve got the next best thing: a double concerto written specially for him by Poland’s foremost living composer.

Download Programme Notes

Large print



8% administrative fee applies to most telephone/online orders (excluding Schools Concerts). Postage is included in this fee. More information about booking fees.

Additional Links

Julian Rachlin