By using our website, you agree to our cookie policy.

Accept & Continue
Archived Russian Heroes

Useful information

In this section
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Russian Heroes

Kabalevsky Overture, Colas Breugnon
Prokofiev Sinfonia Concertante for cello and orchestra
Shostakovich The Age of Gold, Suite
Khachaturian Spartacus, Suite

Vasily Petrenko conductor
Alban Gerhardt cello

‘Football is the ballet of the masses’ said Dmitri Shostakovich, and you won’t find anyone here disagreeing. But whatever your team allegiances, this concert is packed with tunes that everyone can cheer – whether Shostakovich’s outrageously tuneful football ballet The Age of Gold, the physical comedy of Kabalevsky’s Colas Breugnon, or the hard-hitting action and soaring romance of Khachaturian’s Spartacus. It’s another zinger of a concert from Vasily Petrenko’s native Russia – with, at its heart, Alban Gerhardt’s performance of Prokofiev’s Sinfonia Concertante. Because a truly epic cello concerto demands a truly great cellist.


8% per ticket administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.