Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. We also use cookies to optimise your experience on our website. For further information please refer to our privacy policy.

Accept & Continue
Join Our Mailing List

Be the first to know about concerts at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall and receive exclusive email offers on music you love!

  • Sign Up Successful!
    There's some signup error, please try again!
    You've already signed Up!
Archived Mahler’s Fifth Symphony
Selling Fast
Selling Fast
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Mahler’s Fifth Symphony

*Grace-Evangeline Mason Mahler’s Letters (world premiere) (15')
- INTERVAL - (20')
Mahler Symphony No.5 (72')

Vasily Petrenko conductor
*Ellie Slorach conductor
*Members from the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir

At the beginning of his Fifth Symphony, Gustav Mahler stands alone in a world of tragedy. A trumpet sounds in the darkness; the start of a journey through terror, triumph and (of course) the heart-rending Adagietto - Mahler’s musical love-letter to his young wife. It’s an emotional return for Vasily Petrenko, in music that’s close to his heart. But first, hear the Choir in a brand new work by Grace-Evangeline Mason, based on Mahler's love letters to his wife.

learn more about the music

printable programme notes

8% administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders.
A £1 postage fee is applicable on all orders if opting for postal delivery.
More information about booking fees