Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses four cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. For further information please refer to our cookie policy.

Accept & Continue
Archived Liverpool Wind Collective

Useful information

In this section

Liverpool Wind Collective

Please note that current government guidance in Liverpool means that you can only attend concerts with other members of your household or social bubble.Julian Joseph Othello 21 (world premiere) 
Zemlinsky Humoreske
Barber Summer Music
Jim Parker Mississippi Five

Helen Wilson flute
Ruth Davies oboe
Ausiàs Garrigós Morant clarinet 
Gareth Twigg bassoon
Stephen Nicholls horn

Julian Joseph, who wowed audiences on his last visit to Liverpool, returns as composer to introduce the world premiere of his Othello 21 for wind ensemble. Barber’s Summer Music was commissioned in 1956 for the principal wind players of the Detroit Symphony Orchestra, and in it you can hear influences from Gershwin and Stravinsky. Jim Parker’s Mississippi Five is an inventive 1920s-style suite, featuring tributes to the likes of King Oliver and Bessie Smith.

Please note the capacity is very limited (c. 240 seats total) and seating will be done on a socially distanced (2 metre) basis. To book single tickets please call the Box Office on 0151 709 3789.

 Wondering what to expect when you return to Liverpool Philharmonic Hall?

We understand that there is a lot of information to take in around the concerts we’re presenting that you may have some questions. We’ve made a few changes to ensure the safety of audiences and our staff. Click here to view our Coronavirus related FAQs.

8% per ticket administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.

Additional Links