Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses four cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. For further information please refer to our cookie policy.

Accept & Continue
Archived Black and white shot of string sixtet

Useful information

In this section
Close Up Concert


Fanny Mendelssohn String Quartet in E flat 
Dani Howard Symmetry
Rebecca Clarke Lullaby and Grotesque
Bethan Morgan-Williams Double Double
Caroline Bordignon Incandescence for string quartet and live painting* (world premiere)

Kate Richardson violin
Kate Marsden violin
Rachel Jones viola
Hilary Browning cello

Equilibrium is a new group with a mission to introduce works by hitherto neglected women composers and exciting new works by women of today.

*Caroline Bordignon, composer and fine artist, will be live painting during this premiere performance of her Triptych for string quartet.

Equilibrium are delighted to announce that, with the generous support of the Liverpool Women's Organisation, they have been able to invite Sheila Hayman, a direct descendant of Fanny Mendelssohn, to this concert, to talk about her ancestor. Sheila will be delving into her relationship to Fanny, Fanny's life as a composer in the time in which she lived, and her relationship with her brother Felix Mendelssohn. She will also be talking about Fanny's great work for piano The Easter Sonata which was lost for many years, and showing a trailer for an upcoming film about it, made by Sheila herself.

8% per ticket administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.