Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. We also use cookies to optimise your experience on our website. For further information please refer to our privacy policy.

Accept & Continue
Join Our Mailing List

Be the first to know about concerts at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall and receive exclusive email offers on music you love!

  • Sign Up Successful!
    There's some signup error, please try again!
    You've already signed Up!
Archived Beethoven String Quartet Op.59, No.1
Chamber Music

Beethoven String Quartet Op.59, No.1

Alexander Marks violin
Elizabeth Lamberton violin
Robert Shepley viola
Gethyn Jones cello, host and lecturer

Join us this season for Discover: Beethoven String Quartets featuring cellist Gethyn Jones and the Ensemble of St Luke’s, made up of musicians from the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra.

One of the three ‘Razumovsky’ quartets, this work was composed during Beethoven’s middle period which was, like all of his life, a time of intense highs and lows. There was an especially striking contrast between his impressive professional success and his rapidly deteriorating health. He put all of his life experience into his work, successfully channelling his struggles and tribulations into his music.

This event will feature a 45-minute lecture/demonstration followed by a performance of the string quartet, with a short break in between.

Other concerts in this series are:

Saturday 12 March 11am - Beethoven String Quartet, Op.18 No.1

Saturday 18 June 11am - Beethoven String Quartet, Op.131

8% administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders.
A £1 postage fee is applicable on all orders if opting for postal delivery.
More information about booking fees