Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Valentine's Classics

Romeo and Juliet: Fantasy Overture
Piano Concerto No. 2
Suite from Romeo and Juliet
Martin Yates
Zhang Zuo

If music be the food of love, let Martin Yates and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra serve you up a candlelit dinner for two. Take the smouldering Latin passion of Ravel’s Boléro, then add some of the greatest love music ever composed: Tchaikovsky’s and Prokofiev’s impassioned re-tellings of Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet. Most romantic of all, though, the stunning Chinese pianist Zhang Zuo sprinkles her very special kind of stardust all over Rachmaninov’s Second Piano Concerto. This will definitely be more than just a brief encounter! Bring someone special – and let the music do the talking…

Listen to the repertoire from this concert in our Liverpool Philharmonic Starter Collection playlist on Spotify.

Zhang Zuo plays Beethoven's Piano concerto No. 1 with the Estonian Festival Orchestra conducted by Paavo Järvi.

£20, £26, £35, £40, £47
7.5% per order administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.

Additional Links