Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

The Lark Ascending

David Matthews
Norfolk March
Vaughan Williams
The Lark Ascending
Hamish MacCunn
Overture, The Land of the Mountain and the Flood
Vaughan Williams
A Sea Symphony (Symphony No. 1)
Andrew Manze
James Ehnes
Sarah Fox
Mark Stone
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir

“Behold, the sea itself!” Vaughan Williams’s A Sea Symphony takes the poems of Walt Whitman and opens the floodgates to a spring tide of inspiration. Andrew Manze’s Vaughan Williams recordings with the Orchestra have been praised for their “rare sensitivity and warmth”, and the Choir has this music in its blood. Violinist James Ehnes, meanwhile, loves The Lark Ascending so much that he’s come here specially to play it – though when you hear the tunes in Hamish MacCunn’s delightful The Land of the Mountain and the Flood, you’ll wonder why it isn’t just as popular.

£15, £21, £27, £34, £44
7.5% per order administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.

Additional Links