Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

The Gadfly

Suite, The Gadfly
Cello Concerto
Symphony No.4
Vasily Petrenko
Jonathan Aasgaard

Post Concert Question Time - starts 15 minutes after the concert ends (Music Room) with Chief Conductor Vasily Petrenko and cellist Jonathan Aasgaard.

Say what you like about Shostakovich, but he knew how to write a good tune! His delightful music for The Gadfly is a favourite on Classic FM, but today, it’s the starting point for a journey of musical discovery, as Vasily Petrenko and the Orchestra’s principal cello, Jonathan Aasgaard, perform the haunting Cello Concerto by Mieczysław Weinberg, who would have been 100 this year.

We're also proud to announce that our performance of Weinberg’s Cello Concerto will be the UK Premiere - a very special occasion indeed! Shostakovich was a fan – and we think you’ll hear why. Then we travel into the dark, icy world of Sibelius’s powerful Fourth Symphony: a true Nordic thriller, as personal as it is gripping.

£15, £21, £27, £35, £45
7.5% per order administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.