Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Sounds like Shakespeare

Otto Nicolai
Overture, The Merry Wives of Windsor
Piano Concerto No.2
Sir Andrew Davis
Garrick Ohlsson

A horn sounds quietly in the distance, and with a gentle answer from the piano, Brahms launches his second Piano Concerto: 45 minutes of majesty, mellow humour, and a slow movement that’ll melt your heart. To play it we’re proud to welcome back – for the first time this century – the American keyboard legend Garrick Ohlsson. he’s perfectly paired with our Conductor Emeritus Sir Andrew Davis, who starts the evening with two musical tributes to an unlikely hero who simply gets better with age – Shakespeare’s Falstaff.

Parking for this concert is available at Liverpool Metropolitan Cathedral car park for £4. You can book and pre-pay for parking when you click on ‘Book Tickets’.

£15, £20, £26, £32, £42
7.5% per order administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.

Additional Links

Sir Andrew Davis CBE

Garrick Ohlsson