Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Serenade to Music

Vaughan Williams
Serenade to Music (orchestral version)
Violin Concerto
William Lawes (arr. Manze)
Consort Music
Vaughan Williams
Symphony No.9
Andrew Manze
James Ehnes

Classic Intro - 6.15pm, Liverpool Philharmonic Hall (Main Auditorium)
Conductor Andrew Manze discusses Vaughan Williams Symphony No.9, which completes the cycle of the composer’s symphonies after three seasons.

‘How sweet the moonlight sleeps upon this bank!’ Think of Vaughan Williams and you probably think of the tranquillity and beauty of the English countryside – in other words, exactly what you get in the rapturous Serenade to Music. But there’s a lot more to Vaughan Williams than just serenity, and in this final instalment of his critically-acclaimed journey through Vaughan Williams’ symphonies, guest conductor Andrew Manze arrives at the astonishing Ninth: music of visionary power by an 86-year-old genius with an unquenchable spirit. The superb James Ehnes is the soloist in Mendelssohn’s hugely popular Violin Concerto.

£15, £21, £27, £35, £45
7.5% per order administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.

Additional Links