Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Rhapsody in Blue

Duke Ellington
Night Creature
Gary Carpenter
Set for Saxophone and Orchestra
Rhapsody in Blue
Julian Joseph
Symphonic Stories, Suite for Piano and Orchestra (includes UK Premiere of new movement)
Clark Rundell
Iain Ballamy
Julian Joseph
Julian Joseph Trio
(Mark Mondesir drums and Mark Hodgson acoustic bass)

Post Concert Question Time - starts 15 minutes after the concert ends (Music Room) with Gary Carpenter, Clark Rundell, Iain Ballamy and Julian Joseph.

When the worlds of jazz and classical collide, they strike dazzling sparks off each other. Julian Joseph is a pianist, a composer and a living jazz legend – and he totally gets that. Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue needs no introduction; nor does Duke Ellington. But when a jazz saxophonist as influential as Iain Ballamy plays the music of Liverpool composer Gary Carpenter, and Joseph performs his own Symphonic Stories with the full Orchestra, who cares about musical boundaries? As Louis Armstrong put it, “Hot or cool, man, jazz is jazz”. It’s going to sound amazing.

The performance of Set for Saxophone and Orchestra is supported by Resonate. Resonate is a PRS Foundation initiative in partnership with Association of British Orchestras, BBC Radio 3 and Boltini Trust.

£15, £21, £27, £34, £44
7.5% per order administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.

Additional Links