Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Philip Glass: 80th Birthday

American Suite
Philip Glass
Symphony No. 11 (UK premiere)
Symphony No. 2
Vasily Petrenko

Philip Glass is a composer who defines our age. From Hollywood blockbusters to the New York underground, in concert hall, opera house and nightclub, he electrifies everything he touches. So tonight, in his 80th birthday year, we make musical history with the UK premiere of Glass’s Eleventh Symphony. This is going to be big: be there and make two further discoveries, both equally magical, as Vasily Petrenko conducts a rare performance of Scriabin’s sweeping, romantic Second Symphony, plus Antonín Dvořák’s delightfully tuneful musical postcard from the New World.

The symphony was full of body-rocking vitality. Glass’s forms in the first and third movements built up to climaxes that burst open with joyous excitement. Every moment was compelling in one way or another, whether pointing toward harmonic release, exploding with energy, or just simply lovely. This was forty minutes with neither note nor gesture wasted.
New York Classical Review

£15, £21, £27, £34, £44
7.5% per order administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.