Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Petrenko's Shostakovich

Johannesburg Festival Overture
Piano Concerto No. 1
Symphony No. 5
Vasily Petrenko
Nobuyuki Tsujii

“Unparallelled excitement” was how one critic described the piano playing of Nobu Tsujii. If you’ve already heard him, we think you’ll agree. If you haven’t – well, judge for yourself, as he plays Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto (and enjoy some simply glorious tunes into the bargain!) Walton’s overture is a little zinger; and then brace yourself as Vasily Petrenko and the Orchestra throw themselves body and soul into Shostakovich’s shattering Fifth Symphony. Tense, powerful and actionpacked, the composer staked his life on this music. Petrenko understands that, and he won’t hold back.

Nobuyuki Tsujii plays Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1, Op. 23- First movement

Listen to the repertoire from this concert in our Liverpool Philharmonic Starter Collection playlist on Spotify.

£15, £21, £27, £34, £44 (£25 Friday)
7.5% per order administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.

Event Dates

Sold out

Additional Links