Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Petrenko's Brahms II

Overture, Cupid and Psyche
Piano Concerto No.2
Symphony No.2
Vasily Petrenko
George Li

Brahms wrote his Second Symphony by a lake in the Austrian Alps, and you can feel that holiday spirit in every note. Vasily Petrenko’s Brahms Symphony Cycle reaches some of the happiest music Brahms ever wrote, and it’s a wonderfully sunny way to follow the midnight mood of Rachmaninov’s Second Piano Concerto (yes, it’s the one from Brief Encounter), performed by 2015 Tchaikovsky Competition medallist George Li – a true star, making his Liverpool debut. All this is prefaced by the lively opening Hindemith Overture.

The soloist encore at the end of the first half of the concert this evening was: Liszt - La Campanella

£15, £21, £27, £35, £45
7.5% per order administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.

Additional Links