Music Room

Close Up Concert

Jonathan Aasgaard cello, Kristian Lindberg piano

Sold out

Sonata for solo cello No.1, Op. 72
Sonata No.2 in A minor, Op.81
Adagio and Waltz
Preludes for solo cello: selection
Sonata for cello and piano No.2, Op.63

Weinberg loved the cello – it was clearly a vehicle with which he could express his innermost feelings and thoughts. Jonathan Aasgaard, as a longstanding fan of his music, is delighted to celebrate his centenary with a selection of solo works and music for cello and piano. The programme will also include great works by Weinberg’s peers and friends, Myaskovsky and Shostakovich.

For this concert, Jonathan will be joined by his Norwegian compatriot, the outstanding pianist Kristian Lindberg.

Seating is unreserved, and doors open one hour prior to the concert start time. New this season, you can secure seats closest to the stage, by booking into our premium seating area. Premium tickets are limited, and seats within the space are unallocated.

£17, £20 (Premium)
7.5% per order administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.

Please note subscription discounts do not apply to these concerts and they may not be included in your ‘flexi’ series.