Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Háry János

Book tickets
Symphony No.49, ‘La Passione’
Violin Concerto No.5, ‘Turkish’
Faust Overture
Suite, Háry János
Gilbert Varga
Kristóf Baráti

Classic Intro - 6.15pm, Music Room
7 February is 'Time to Talk Day 2019' and for today's Classic Intro, BBC music broadcaster and author, Stephen Johnson, will discuss his new book How Shostakovich Changed My Mind - looking at the extraordinary healing effect of music on sufferers of mental illness.

Ever heard a whole orchestra sneeze? Kodály’s Háry János opens with a musical one, and continues to serve up the fun throughout! Haydn’s a bit more polite, but his elegant manners hide surprising passions – meanwhile, his teenage friend Mozart conjures up an imaginary Ottoman Empire in his delightfully zingy Fifth Violin Concerto. The Hungarian violinist Kristóf Baráti gives it a dash of paprika, before guest conductor Gilbert Varga – back by popular demand – dances with the Devil (well, Richard Wagner anyway) in the fabulously moody Faust overture.

Download Programme Notes

£15, £21, £27, £35, £45 (£25 Friday)
7.5% per order administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.

Event Dates

Additional Links

Gilbert Varga