Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra


Overture, The Thieving Magpie
Variations on a Rococo Theme
Andante cantabile for cello and orchestra
Symphony No. 3, Eroica
Julian Rachlin
Jian Wang

Two chords slam out, and Ludwig van Beethoven changes music forever. Beethoven’s Eroica symphony is the music of revolution: two centuries on, classical music is still feeling the aftershock! So imagine the energy when conductor Julian Rachlin – an artist who, says the Liverpool Echo, is “capable of turning an interesting programme into an astonishing one” – tackles this most radical of all symphonies. But it’s not all about making history: the great Chinese-born cellist Jian Wang brings his special brand of poetry to bear on two of Tchaikovsky’s mini-masterpieces.

Jian Wang playing Tchaikovsky Andante Cantabile with Long Yu and China Philharmonic Orchestra.

£15, £21, £27, £34, £44 (Friday £25)
7.5% per order administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.

Event Dates

Additional Links