Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Elgar's Cello Concerto

Overture, Rienzi
Cello Concerto
Symphony No. 2
Ben Gernon
Narek Hakhnazaryan

Some pieces are popular for a reason, and with its blend of poetry, passion and very English nostalgia, Elgar’s Cello Concerto says something both familiar and new, every time it’s played. We can’t wait to hear what Narek Hakhnazaryan has to say about it: this outstanding young Armenian cellist caused quite a stir at the 2016 Proms. Shropshire-born Ben Gernon is another fast-rising talent, and he’s surrounding Elgar with pure romance: Wagner’s barnstorming Rienzi overture, and Schumann’s Second Symphony, basically a coded love-letter to the composer’s wife complete the programme.

£15, £21, £27, £34, £44
7.5% per order administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.

Additional Links

Narek Hakhnazaryan