Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Dvořák's Cello Concerto

Overture, School for Scandal
Cello Concerto
Symphony No. 2
Vasily Petrenko
Alexey Stadler

When Vasily Petrenko conducts Russian music, you know to expect big emotions. And they don’t come much bigger than in Rachmaninov’s glorious Second Symphony. He’s paired it with Dvořák’s Cello Concerto: written in the New World and performed tonight, for the first time in Liverpool, by a young Russian star who caused a sensation when he appeared as a last minute replacement with the Orchestra at the 2016 BBC Proms. It’s part of a celebration of music inspired by America: so Barber’s firecracker of an overture will set things off with a bang!

£15, £21, £27, £34, £44 (£25 Friday)
7.5% per order administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.

Event Dates

Additional Links