Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses four cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. For further information please refer to our cookie policy.

Accept & Continue
Viennese Master

Useful information

In this section
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Viennese Master

Please note this concert has been cancelled due to the coronavirusZemlinsky Four Orchestral Pieces
Hindemith Symphonic Metamorphosis of themes by Weber
Richard Strauss Don Quixote

Vasily Petrenko conductor
Jonathan Aasgaard cello

Poor old Don Quixote has lost it, and wearing rusty armour, he mounts his horse and rides out on the daftest possible quest. No-one tells a musical joke quite like Richard Strauss, and today Vasily Petrenko conjures up sorcerers, knights, windmills and a whole flock of bleating sheep. He’s matched it with Hindemith’s uproarious Symphonic Metamorphosis, which uses four of our famous church bells, and the music of the Viennese romantic master Alexander von Zemlinsky. If you heard The Mermaid in May 2019, and you like Mahler, then you’ll love this next instalment, drawn from his operas.

  • Thu 12 Nov 7:30pm £47/£37/£28/£24/£15

8% per ticket administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.