Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses four cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. For further information please refer to our cookie policy.

Accept & Continue
Manfred Symphony

Useful information

In this section
Royal Liverpool philharmonic orchestra

Manfred Symphony

Please note that tickets for this concert are not currently on sale.Walton Overture, Portsmouth Point
Brahms Violin Concerto
Tchaikovsky Manfred Symphony

Vasily Petrenko conductor
Liza Ferschtman violin

Classic Intro - 6.15pm, Music Room
Professor Catherine Tackley, Head of Music at the University of Liverpool, talks about the music by Walton, Brahms and Tchaikovsky that features in this evening’s concert.
Tormented by forbidden desires, Byron’s Manfred takes to the mountains to battle his demons. Tchaikovsky knew exactly how he felt, and poured everything into 50 minutes of the most personal music he ever wrote. This whole concert positively crackles with electricity – from Walton’s breezy Overture to the gypsy dances of Brahms’s gloriously tuneful concerto, played by the sensational Dutch violinist Liza Ferschtman, in her first Liverpool appearance.

  • Thu 15 Apr 2021 7:30pm £47/£37/£28/£24/£15

8% per ticket administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.