Our organisation encompasses the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra,  Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and an award-winning Learning Programme. Our ticketing system Spektrix uses four cookies that are essential to making our website function properly. For further information please refer to our cookie policy.

Accept & Continue
Join Our Mailing List

Be the first to know about concerts at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall and receive exclusive email offers on music you love!

  • Sign Up Successful!
    There's some signup error, please try again!
    You've already signed Up!
Archived Mahler’s Fifth Symphony
Selling Fast
Selling Fast
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Mahler’s Fifth Symphony

*Grace-Evangeline Mason Mahler’s Letters (world premiere) (15')
- INTERVAL - (20')
Mahler Symphony No.5 (72')

Vasily Petrenko conductor
*Ellie Slorach conductor
*Members from the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir

At the beginning of his Fifth Symphony, Gustav Mahler stands alone in a world of tragedy. A trumpet sounds in the darkness; the start of a journey through terror, triumph and (of course) the heart-rending Adagietto - Mahler’s musical love-letter to his young wife. It’s an emotional return for Vasily Petrenko, in music that’s close to his heart. But first, hear the Choir in a brand new work by Grace-Evangeline Mason, based on Mahler's love letters to his wife.

learn more about the music

printable programme notes

8% administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders.
A £1 postage fee is applicable on all orders if opting for postal delivery.
More information about booking fees