Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

A Night in the Tropics

Book tickets
Louis Gottschalk
Symphony No.1, A Night in the Tropics (edited by Richard Rosenberg)
Claudia Montero
Vientos del Sur (Winds of the South): Concerto for Piano Accordion and Orchestra (world premiere)
Vasily Petrenko
Ksenija Sidorova

Hold tight: it’s not every concert that starts with a samba and ends with a shipwreck! But when Louis Gottschalk wrote his First Symphony in 1857, he gave its finale an unmistakably Latin shimmy and the first ever orchestral samba. Far away in Russia, meanwhile, Rimsky-Korsakov dreamt of the Arabian Nights – and his sumptuous musical fairytale Scheherazade never gets any less thrilling. In between – well, let’s just say that if you heard the phenomenal Ksenija Sidorova at our 2016 Christmas concerts, the opportunity to hear her in the dance rhythms of this brand new concerto by Argentinean composer Claudia Montero will be pretty much unmissable.

£15, £21, £27, £35, £45
7.5% per order administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.

Additional Links