Vaughan Williams Symphonies Vol.3 - Andrew Manze

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
Andrew Manze conductor

Andrew Manze’s interpretations of Vaughan Williams’ Symphonies have met with acclaim from audiences and critics alike. This third album in the series contains two masterpieces. The 5th Symphony of 1943, displaying a ‘greatness of soul’, as one commentator at the time wrote, draws on material forThe Pilgrim’s Progressfrom 1906. The 6th Symphony of 1948 stunned the audience at its premiere – some tried to explain the work’s last movement as depicting a nuclear wasteland. Vaughan Williams denied it was a war symphony, renewing the questions asked about the 4th: why did he write such another violent work, what does it mean? The composer, shocked by the nuclear wasteland talk, commented, ‘we can get in words nearest to the substance of my last movement in "We are such stuff as dreams are made on, and our little life is rounded with a sleep” fromThe Tempest’.


Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872–1958)
Symphony No.5 in D
1. I. Preludio: Moderato – Allegro 11.00
2. II. Scherzo: Presto 4.53
3. III. Romanza: Lento 11.58
4. IV. Passacaglia: Moderato – Allegro 9.41

Symphony No.6 in E minor
5. I. Allegro 7.09
6. II. Moderato 9.29
7. III. Scherzo: Allegro vivace 5.54
8. IV. Epilogue: Moderato 10.03


£2.50 P&P (per order)

Buy Album