St George's Hall Concert Room

Chamber Music

Garrick Ohlsson, piano

Sonata No.24 in F sharp major Op.78
Sonata in A major D959
Selection from Czech Dances
Suite from El Amor Brujo

It’s taken us over two decades to bring the great American pianist Garrick Ohlsson back to Liverpool Philharmonic and following his performance of Brahms’s second Concerto this recital will show why it’s been worth the wait.

Ohlsson’s command of Beethoven and Schubert goes without saying – but from Smetana’s playful Czech dances to a whole sequence of Spanish miniatures, the second half of his programme shows that he’s not afraid to smile, too.

Download programme notes here

Magnificently eagle-like, powerful and steady yet ready to swoop on the incidental details. The American pianist approached the monumental side of the work with seeming effortlessness, but his playing was also full of refinement.
The Daily Telegraph

7.5% per order administrative fee applies for online & telephone orders, this includes all costs and postage is free. More information about booking fees.