Skip to Content

Liverpool Philharmonic, one of the UK’s most forward-looking music organisations.

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Don Quixote x

Thursday 27 February 2014 7:30 pm
Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Book Tickets

Rimsky-Korsakov Capriccio Espagnol
Panufnik Violin Concerto
Strauss Don Quixote* Listen >>

Vasily Petrenko conductor
Tai Murray violin
Jonathan Aasgaard cello*

Tickets £13, £18, £24, £29, £36
£7 students/under 25s/claimants. Must be booked by calling 0151 709 3789 or in person only. Availability may be limited.

£1.50 per ticket administrative fee applies for online/telephone ticket orders, + 75p per order postage fee (if required). More information about booking fees.

It is with regret that we announce that violinist Vadim Repin has had to withdraw from this concert this week owing to a shoulder injury.

However, we are pleased to announce that Tai Murray, will take his place and the programme remains unchanged.

Described as 'superb' by The New York Times, violinist Tai Murray is establishing herself a musical voice of a generation. She has performed as guest soloist on the stages of such halls as the Barbican, Chicago's Orchestra Hall, Copenhagen's Tivoli Gardens, and Shanghai’s Concert Hall with such ensembles as the Atlanta Symphony, BBC Scottish Symphony, and Orquesta Sinfónica Simón Bolívar.

Richard Strauss claimed that he could depict even a knife and fork in music. So when he turned his imagination to the tale of Don Quixote, the results were… well, hear for yourself, as Vasily Petrenko and the Orchestra summon up sorcerers, knights, windmills and a whole flock of bleating sheep!

It’s a musical shaggy-dog story with the warmest of hearts, and a great showcase for the Orchestra’s principal cello, Jonathan Aasgaard. First, though, Rimsky-Korsakov pops open the musical Cava, before we welcome a true living legend of the violin, as Vadim Repin makes his Liverpool debut in the sparky, songful concerto by the great Polish-turned-British composer, Andrzej Panufnik, whose centenary we celebrate. Serious fun – and real passion.

Strauss Edition

During 2014 the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra will be celebrating the 150th anniversary of the birth of Richard Strauss – find out more about the music in the Strauss Edition concerts.

Classic Intro 6.15pm

Stephen Johnson talks about tonight’s programme. Stephen broadcasts frequently for BBC Radio 3, 4 and World Service and is the author of Bruckner Remembered and studies of Mahler and Wagner. He also presents BBC Radio 3’s Discovering Music and is a regular contributor to BBC Music Magazine.

This concert will finish at approx. 9.15pm.

Back to the top of the page