Skip to Content

Liverpool Philharmonic, one of the UK’s most forward-looking music organisations.

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra - players

Vasily Petrenko Chief Conductor
Libor Pešek KBE
Conductor Laureate
Ian Tracey

Strings l Woodwind l Brass l Percussion

Diagram of the Orchestra

Diagram of the Orchestra (click to enlarge)

The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra (click to enlarge)

Click on players' names to learn more about each orchestra member. 


First Violin

James Clark and Thelma Handy Joint Leaders Adopted by Jane and Stephen Howarth
Adi Brett Joint Associate Leader
Miranda Playfair Joint Associate Leader Adopted by anonymous patron, Jeremy Paterson-Fox
Rakhvinder Singh Joint Assistant Leader Adopted by Susan Davies and Iris Caulfield
Lesley Gwyther † Adopted by Mary Riddoch, Dr W E and Mrs J M Kenyon, CHE
Martin Richardson Adopted by Tim Jones
Concettina Del Vecchio  Adopted by Mary Riddoch
Alexander Marks Adopted by Richard and Jenny Bryson, anonymous patron
John Hebbron † Adopted In Memory of Duncan Atherton
David Whitehead Adopted by Mr and Mrs A Gauntlett
Stephan Mayer Adopted by Carmel Stewart
Ruth McNamara Adopted by Alma Griffiths
Susanna Jordan Adopted by Peter R Brooks
Elizabeth Lamberton Adopted by Don and Anne Littler

Second Violin

Kate Richardson Section Leader Adopted by Mrs Jean Bingham, anonymous patron
Dania Alzapiedi Adopted by Alan Turnock and an anonymous patron
Sophie Coles Adopted by Alan Turnock
Kate Marsden
Adopted by Dr E Vivori
Martin Anthony Burrage † Adopted by Mrs Anne Wolff
James Hutton † Adopted by Robin and Ann Moor
Justin Evans Adopted by Rob & Val Howell, Sir Harold Kroto FRS, Romain Rabot and Catherine Wall, Lesley Smith
Sally Anne Anderson Adopted by Mr and Mrs J P Monaghan
David Rimbault Adopted by Margaret Metcalf In Memory of John
Olga Smolen
Adopted by Victor Greenberg
James Pattinson


Catherine Marwood Adopted by Kathy Kelly / Vicci Wardman Section Leaders 
Robert Shepley
Adopted by Hitchcock Wright and Partners
David Ruby Adopted by anonymous patron
Richard Wallace † Adopted by anonymous patron
Fiona Stunden Adopted by Jean Cross
Rachel Jones Adopted by Robert & Pamela Ferguson, Alan Turnock
Rebecca Walters Adopted by Mr and Mrs J Rodgers
Sarah Hill Adopted by anonymous patron
Ian Fair Adopted by anonymous patron


Jonathan Aasgaard Section Leader Adopted by Hugh and Juliet Morton, Brian and Colleen Higgins, anonymous patron
Hilary Browning Adopted by Mrs P Browning
Ian Bracken Adopted by Michael D Handley and Edward J Davies
Gethyn Jones Adopted by anonymous patron
Stephen Mann Adopted by CA Reilly
Ruth Owens Adopted by Mr and Mrs D Hugo, Julia Westwell
Alexander Holladay Adopted by Viv Hollinshead
Mark Lindley
Adopted by Martin Rogers
Liubov Ulybysheva Adopted by John and Chris Sutcliffe, anonymous patron

Double Bass

Marcel Becker Section Leader Adopted by Paul and Christen Herbert
Damián Rubido González Associate Principal Double Bass
Ashley Frampton Adopted by anonymous patron
Nigel Dufty Adopted by Teri Holmes
Daniel Hammerton † Adopted by anonymous patron; Valerie and Elfed Morgan
Anthony Williams Adopted by Captain and Mrs Taylor



Cormac Henry Section Leader Adopted by Gill Porter
Fiona Fulton Adopted by Liverpool Organic Brewery Ltd



Jonathan Small  Section Leader
Adopted by Dr S and Mrs B Grant; Mrs Valerie Connolly
Ruth Davies Adopted by Mary Riddoch, Liverpool Gin

Cor Anglais

Zoe Kitson


Thomas Verity adopted by Jon & Sally Sheard, PJ Whitfield

Bass Clarinet


Rebekah Abramski Adopted by Peter R Brooks


Gareth Twigg Adopted by Sue and Roger Greenwood



Timothy Jackson Section Leader Adopted by Robin Bloxsidge and Nick Riddle
Simon Griffiths
Adopted by Oswestry Concert Goers
David Pigott† Adopted by Mr NG Mills
Timothy Nicholson Adopted by anonymous patron
Christopher Morley
Adopted by anonymous patron


Rhys Owens Section Leader Adopted by Sheila Loyden
Paul Marsden Adopted by Roland Zollner & Colin Parr
Brendan Ball Adopted by Liverpool Organic Brewery Limited, Alma Griffiths

Tenor Trombone

Simon Cowen Section Leader Adopted by Alan Platt
Simon Powell Adopted by Peter Urquhart

Bass Trombone

Simon Chappell Adopted by Peter and Gwen Goodhew


Robin Haggart Adopted by anonymous patron


Neil Hitt Section Leader  Adopted by Liz Christie in memory of Stuart


Graham Johns Section Leader Adopted by Mr WJ and Mrs CJ Bowley
Josephine Frieze Adopted by Peter and Susan Rathe
Henry Baldwin Adopted by Dorothy Taylor and Jill Conlan

† denotes Honorary Life Member of the Society 

Thelma Handy, Joint Leader

Back to the top of the page