Skip to Content

Liverpool Philharmonic, one of the UK’s most forward-looking music organisations.

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Petrenko’s Prokofiev

Sunday 18 May 2014 2:30 pm
Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Book Tickets

Brahms Piano Concerto No.2
Prokofiev Symphony No.6

Vasily Petrenko conductor
Rudolf Buchbinder piano 

Tickets £13, £18, £24, £29, £36
£7 students/under 25s/claimants. Must be booked by calling 0151 709 3789 or in person only. Availability may be limited.

£1.50 per ticket administrative fee applies for online/telephone ticket orders, + 75p per order postage fee (if required). More information about booking fees.

A horn calls softly in the distance; the piano sighs in response… it’s a magically romantic way to begin a great piano concerto. But Johannes Brahms knows exactly what he’s doing, and the great Austrian pianist Rudolf Buchbinder brings a lifetime of artistry to this loveliest of concertos. From tender opening to exuberant finish, you’ll never take a sunnier journey in the company of a grand piano and a symphony orchestra – or find a more powerful contrast to Prokofiev’s shattering Sixth Symphony. If, like so many, you’ve been thrilled by Petrenko’s Shostakovich symphonies with the Orchestra, we think you’ll be knocked backwards by this tragic masterpiece from the darkest years of the Stalin era: music whose message never gets any less powerful. 

This concert will finish at approx. 4.30pm.


Back to the top of the page